Clear all

Gaeltacht

7 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@mcrose)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Wow, I've not visited the forums in a while. I think my first Irish winter has basically had me in a state of hibernation for the last few months haha!

But I have been meaning to ask... is anyone here familiar with Gaeltacht? My year five student is due to take a week long field trip to Donegal this summer, as required by her school to satisfy her Irish language requirement (she attends a second language school, so the Irish is dialed down, and it would seem a week of compulsory Gaeltacht is part of the compromise).

I've not yet sent my kids to a camp of any sort and the notion of sending her to one in a country I'm still fairly new to is making me a bit nervous. But nearly every local I've encountered seems familiar with Gaeltacht, so is this customary? Thoughts? Advice? Experience?

Liam
(@moveclubadmin)
Honorable Member Admin

When we were in school, at around age 15/16, it was very common for kids to go away to a Gaeltacht area for a couple of weeks or so. It was almost like a rite of passage. Although not required, it was very useful for topping up on language skills.
Your daughter is a bit younger than that, and I'd imagine not as likely to get up to the kinds of things most teens do. As with teen trip away from home for teenagers, there was a fair bit of messing around.

I can definitely understand your hesitation to send her away. I'd be the same. It's kind of an odd requirement to have in place for such young kids. Have you given much info by the school as regards, supervision, activities, free time etc?

ReplyQuote
(@mcrose)
Trusted Member
Topic starter