Notifications
Clear all

[Sticky] Introduce yourself here

316 Posts
154 Users
98 Likes
48.7 K Views
(@mitzi)

Great! Thanks Liam, you've been very helpful!

ReplyQuote
(@jessalyn54)

Hi glad I found this website! I'm moving to Dublin on October 8th so I've been doing all of my planning to get over there. I'm a tax consultant and I'm moving to Dublin for work. I have my work permit, sold all my belongings, I'll be showing up with a few suitcases and one or two boxes. 

Things that "keep me up at night" which I will be searching the forum for discussions of (if anyone wants to link me to good threads feel free!):

- I've been looking for studios or roommates on rent.ie and daft.ie but won't really be able to get to much into it until I arrive. I am having my two cats flown out to me (using a pet relocator) after I've secured an apartment. Wondering how much trouble I will have finding pet friendly apartments? Lots of these website don't even have a search filter for "pet friendly".

- Airlines - I'm a big fan of accumulating miles on a preferred airline. I have Southwest and American Airlines programs I am loyal to in the U.S. Am I likely to find / establish any similar "key airline relationship" to start picking up miles? I intend to travel all over Europe in my free time (husband free and child free). Wondering if I'll really just have mileage programs with a million airlines and never make progress with any one of them specifically?

- Credit Cards - I have been doing a lot of research into this hoping I could get a good credit card (which I pay off every month) to accumulate miles on an airline or some other good rewards program (see previous bullet about traveling a lot). However the google results are dismal. I am not seeing any benefits of charging a credit card and paying it off every month. Anyone have a different experience?