Advice on moving fr...

Notifications
Clear all

Advice on moving from the UK with no job offer.

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@stuartbates86)
Topic starter  

Hi all

My name is Stuart and I'm looking to move to County Cork from the UK in the next couple of months.  

I have been relentlessly job searching for the past 6-9 months and within that time have amassed over 300 rejection emails from employers in Cork.  I am not being ambitious with the positions I apply for and they are well within my capabilities and level of experience.  I have over 7 years experience in office administration and I'm a part qualified accounting technician (as they are known in Ireland) and I would have hoped to have received at least an interview invitation during this time, but sadly none have come my way.

I check all the common job sites (jobs.ie, irishjobs.ie, ie.indeed.com) and I have been in contact with several agencies (La Creme, CPL, FRS, Brightwater).  

I am starting to seriously consider moving to Ireland in the hope of finding employment within a limited timeframe of 4 - 6 months... and I mean ANY employment, as long as it's 20+ hours a week to get Family Income Supplement.  

I would like to ask a few questions based on others' experiences in this area.

1.  Based on the current job market in Ireland, would it be feasible that I could find employment within a 6 month period?  I'm willing to take part time, full time, temporary, permanent... whatever!!

2.  Would employers use my current location (the UK) as an immediate reason to reject my application, due to the awkward logistics of conducting interviews?  I am fully willing to speak via Skype video or over the phone but I know most employers prefer the traditional "face to face" interview.

3.  If anybody on here has experienced spells of unemployment in Ireland, how long was it before you were able to find your next position?  Are we talking a few weeks or a "several month stretch"?